Winning Feels Good (NaNoWriMo)

I’ve been a bit quiet on the blogging and tweeting front for the past couple of weeks because pretty much all of my writing energy has been directed towards creating 50,000 words for National Novel Writing Month. I achieved my goal on 24th this year 6 clear days ahead of the deadline. Last year, I was still beavering away right up to the evening of the last day.

I can’t tell you how wonderful it feels to achieve this writing goal – it’s about so much more than just achieving a wordcount. This year, as last year, I’ve met a lot of fellow participants (NaNoers) at the local support events organised by our Municipal Liaison officer, Meg Kingston, and made lots of new writing friends. To me, their friendship and support is every bit as important as the common goal that unites us. At the end of the month we will all go our separate ways – some of us will perhaps never meet again but I’m sure, as happened last year, some new and lasting friendships will also be formed – I certainly hope so – only time will tell.

In Wales alone (a relatively small country), well over ten million words have been written so far and, at the time of writing, there are still a few days left. Probably, only a tiny proportion of these stories will ever be published but who cares. The creative energy unleashed is fantastic and a lucky few, who maybe started this project on a whim, may well go on to become best selling authors. But it’s not about getting published, it’s about forming a disciplined writing habit, finding your inner voice and ignoring (for one month only!) your inner editor. It’s like running a marathon, many drop out for a variety of reasons but for those of us who make it the achievement feels great and the camaraderie feels even better!

That’s it for now – I’m going back to my novel – I may have hit the wordcount but the novel isn’t finished yet and I aim to keep going until it is!

And here are the stats to prove it…

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Winning Feels Good (NaNoWriMo)

  1. jan M

    Well done,Bob!And all this activity done while also winning runner-up prize in the Muriel Ross Trophy for article writing at Cardiff Writers’ Circle.
    Jan M

  2. John Wilce

    Please you’ve achieved your goal.

    Ahead of schedule – Well Done Bob.

    Cheers John

Leave a Reply

